LibGuides: RN-to-BSN: Evidence Based Practice

Best Databases for EBP Searching

Cochrane Library (Wiley)
Subject(s): Evidence based health care, nursing, and medicine. Best for: Assignments that require credible, scholarly research and care plans. Includes: Peer-reviewed systematic reviews, clinical trials, and protocols. Cochrane reviews are recognised as the gold standard in evidence-based healthcare.
Joanna Briggs Institute Evidence Based Practice Database
Subject(s): Evidence based medicine. Best for: Assignments that require credible, scholarly research and care plans. Includes: Brief, peer-reviewed evidence summaries.
CINAHL Ultimate (EBSCO)

Subject(s): Nursing and allied health. Best for: Assignments that require credible, scholarly research. Includes: Most comprehensive set of scholarly journals out of all the nursing databases.

View a video tutorial on this database.
MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO)
Subject(s): Clinical medicine, experimental medicine, dentistry, nursing, health services administration, nutrition, and more. Best for: Assignments that require credible, scholarly research. Includes: Scholarly journals and treatment guidelines.

CEBM Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine
The CEBM aims to develop, teach and promote evidence-based health care through a variety of methods so that all healthcare professionals can maintain the highest standards of medicine.
Cochrane
Cochrane is a non-profit, non-governmental organization formed to organize medical research findings so as to facilitate evidence-based choices about health interventions faced by health professionals, patients, and policy makers.
Introduction to Evidence-Based Practice
This tutorial was developed by staff at Duke University Medical Center Library and the Health Sciences Library at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.