Featured Books & eBooks - Water Quality & Treatment
Water Quality: An Introduction by ISBN: 9783319174457Publication Date: 2015University training in water quality is often limited to specialized courses in engineering, ecology, and fisheries curricula. This revised second edition presents a basic understanding of water quality to professionals who are not formally trained in the subject, and draws information from a variety of disciplines including chemistry, biology, mathematics, physics, engineering, and resource management. Because it employs only first-year college-level chemistry and very basic physics, the book is well-suited as the foundation for a general introductory course in water quality.
Quicklist
Reid, Robert. Water Quality and Systems: A Guide for Facility Managers. (2003) - eBook
Binnie, Chris. Basic Water Treatment. (2002) - TD430 .B56
Drinan, Joanne. Water & Wastewater Treatment: A Guide for the Non-Engineering Professional. (2001) - TD430 .D764
Constructed Wetlands for Industrial Wastewater Treatment by ISBN: 9781119268345Publication Date: 2018Constructed Wetlands for Industrial Wastewater Treatment contains a review of the state-of-the-art applications of constructed wetland technology for industrial wastewater treatment. This green technology offers many economic, environmental, and societal advantages. The text examines the many unique uses and the effectiveness of constructed wetlands for the treatment of complex and heavily polluted wastewater from various industrial sources. An international team of experts presents vivid examples of the current state of constructed wetlands in the industrial sector, with applications in the oil and gas industry, agro-industries, paper mills, pharmaceutical industry, textile industry, winery, brewery, sludge treatment and much more.
Quicklist
Gerardi, Michael. Wastewater Pathogens. (2010) - eBook
Drechsel, Pay (Ed.). Wastewater Irrigation and Health: Assessing and Mitigating Risk in Low-Income Countries. (2010) - eBook
Davis, Mackenzie Leo. Water & Wastewater Engineering: Design Principles & Practice. (2010) - eBook
Gray, N. F. Biology of Waste Treatment. (2004) - eBook
Mara, D. Duncan. Domestic Wastewater Treatment in Developing Countries. (2004) - eBook
Builder's Greywater Guide: Installation, Standards, and Science for Builders, Landscapers, Regulators, Policymakers, Researchers, and Homeowners by ISBN: 9780964343320Publication Date: 2015The Builder's Greywater Guide is of interest to anyone getting a permit for a greywater system, installing large greywater systems, installing a greywater system as a part of new construction or remodeling, making a greywater system for others, working on the regulation of greywater, or with an academic interest in greywater. Topics include: Special reasons for builders to install or not install a greywater system, flow chart for choosing a system, suggestions for dealing with inspectors, legal requirements checklist, detailed review of system options with respect to new laws, latest construction details and design tips, maintenance suggestions, equations for estimating irrigation demand, and the complete text of new US greywater law with annotations and suggested improvements.
The New Create an Oasis with Greywater (6th Ed): Integrated Design for Water Conservation, Reuse, Rainwater Harvesting, and Sustainable Landscaping by ISBN: 9780964343337Publication Date: 2015This twentieth-anniversary edition of the world's best-selling greywater book features a dozen more pages, complete information on the “laundry to landscape” system, new color plates, extensive revisions to every page, and dozens of new photos and figures. Topics include complete instructions for simple to more complex installations; how to deal with freezing, flooding, drought, failing septic tanks, low perk soil, and conditions in non-industrialized regions; coordinating a team of professionals to get optimum results on high-end projects; and radical plumbing that uses 90% fewer resources.
The Water-Wise Home: How to Conserve, Capture, and Reuse Water in Your Home and Landscape by ISBN: 9781612121697Publication Date: 2015Save the earth's most precious resource while also saving yourself money. Laura Allen provides expert strategies for using water smartly and efficiently while fulfilling all of your home and garden needs. Learn how to create a water-wise landscape, reuse grey water, harvest rainwater, and even set up a waterless composting toilet. Offering proven techniques in clear and accessible language, The Water-Wise Home makes it easy to help the environment and lower your household operating costs through conserving water.
A Multidisciplinary Introduction to Desalination by ISBN: 9788793379541Publication Date: 2018Although more than 70% of the globe is covered with water, only a small portion is suitable for direct human use, making the scarcity of freshwater one of our planet's most serious challenges. In this context, desalination, defined as "the separation of salts from water," is one of the possible solutions for appeasing our ever-increasing thirst. By drawing upon the expertise of a remarkable team of international authors, this book provides a simple, encompassing, and "multidisciplinary" introduction to desalination. featuring a unique assortment of reader-friendly chapters that strike a delicate balance between the technical and non-technical.
Renewable Energy Powered Desalination Handbook by ISBN: 9780128152447Publication Date: 2018Desalination based on the use of renewable energy sources can provide a sustainable way to produce fresh water. It is expected to become economically attractive as the costs of renewable technologies continue to decline and the prices of fossil fuels continue to increase. This practical handbook covers various renewable technologies currently used in the field, including solar, wind, geothermal and nuclear desalination—as well as topics related to energy recovery the thermodynamics of desalination.
Efficient Desalination by Reverse Osmosis: A Guide to RO practice by ISBN: 9781780405056Publication Date: 2015Early applications of desalination were small-scale plants deploying a range of technologies. However with the technological developments in Reverse Osmosis, most new plants use this technology because it has a proven history of use and low energy and capital costs compared with other available desalination technologies. This has led to the recent trend for larger seawater desalination plants in an effort to further reduce costs, and 1000 MLD seawater desalination plants projected in the next several years. Efficient Desalination by Reverse Osmosis recognizes that desalination by reverse osmosis has progressed significantly over the last decades and provides an up to date review of the state of the art for the reverse osmosis process.
Desalination Engineering: Planning and Design by ISBN: 9780071777155Publication Date: 2013An in-depth guide to reverse osmosis desalination, this publication of the Water Environment Federation and WateReuseAssociation provides comprehensive details on the planning and engineering of brackish and seawater desalination projects for municipal water supplies. After a brief overview of widely used desalination technologies, Desalination Engineering focuses on reverse osmosis desalination. The book discusses basic principles, planning and environmental review of projects, design and selection of key desalination plant components, desalinated water post-treatment, and concentrate management.
Quicklist
Rizzuti, Lucio; Hisham Ettouney; & Andrea Cipollina. Solar Desalination for the 21st Century : A Review of Modern Technologies and Researches on Desalination Coupled to Renewable Energies. (2007) - eBook
National Research Council. Review of the Desalination and Water Purification Technology Roadmap. (2004) - eBook
Plastic Water: The Social & Material Life of Bottled Water by Call Number: HD9349.M542H39ISBN: 9780262029414Publication Date: 2015How did branded bottles of water insinuate themselves into our daily lives? Why did water transform from a common good to an economic good—or, in industry parlance a "fast moving consumer good” (MCG)? Plastic Water examines the processes behind this transformation. It goes beyond the usual political and environmental critiques of bottled water to investigate its multiplicity, examining a bottle of water's simultaneous existence as (among other things) a product, personal health resource, object of boycotts, and part of accumulating waste matter.
Bottled and Sold: The Story Behind Our Obsession with Bottled Water by Call Number: TP659 .G54ISBN: 9781610911627Publication Date: 2011Bottled and Sold shows how water went from being a free natural resource to one of the most successful commercial products of the last one hundred years—and why we are poorer for it. It's a big story and water is big business. Every second of every day in the United States, a thousand people buy a plastic bottle of water. Are there legitimate reasons to buy all those bottles? With a scientist's eye and a natural storyteller's wit, world-renowned freshwater expert, Peter Gleick, seeks to find out.
Quicklist
Royte, Elizabeth. Bottlemania: How Water Went on Sale and Why We Bought It. (2008) - D9349.M542 R69
Chapelle, Frank. Wellsprings: A Natural History of Bottled Spring Waters. (2005) - TD223.C434